Rotten Sound + Escuela Grind

Rotten Sound + Escuela Grind

Event Time Mon 13th May at 7:00pm-Mon 13th May at 10:45pm
Event Location The Head of Steam Newcastle, Newcastle upon Tyne
Event Price £18 + Booking fee (see below)
Age Restrictions
Age restrictions: 16+ (under 18s to be accompanied by an adult)


General Entry Standing £18.00 +
£1.80 fee
Nothing selected yet

Rotten Sound + Escuela Grind

Finland, like most countries, has its mainstream, middle-of-the-road pop stars (people who sound like Celine Dion or Gloria Estefan singing in Finnish) as well as its musical extremists who cater to the underground; and rock doesn't get much more extreme and underground than Rotten Sound. In the '90s and 2000s, Rotten Sound has favored a brutally harsh, violent, angry, and ferocious approach to death metal/black metal and grindcore. There is nothing merciful about Rotten Sound's blistering albums, which have a very claustrophobic quality and give the listener no room to breath; when a Rotten Sound album is finished playing, one feels drained and exhausted. And while that mercilessly intense approach has earned Rotten Sound no mainstream acceptance, the band has enjoyed a small but extremely devoted cult following.

Founded by guitarist Mika Aalto in Vaasa, Finland, in 1993, the band quickly earned a reputation for being one of the most intense bands on the Scandinavian death metal/grindcore scene. Rotten Sound -- whose early influences included Slayer, Napalm Death, Suicidal Tendencies, Entombed, and Carcass -- started recording in 1994, when the headbangers' debut single "Sick Bastard" came out on the Genet label. Subsequent releases included 1995's "Psychotic Veterinarian" on SOA, 1996's "Loosin' Face" on Anomie, and 1997's "Splitted Alive" on IDS. Under Pressure, Rotten Sound's first full-length album, was released by Repulse Records (a Spanish label) in 1998 and was followed by Drain (also on Repulse) in 1999. In the early 2000s, Rotten Sound signed with Necropolis' Deathvomit subsidiary, which released Still Psycho in 2000 and Murderworks in 2002.

Over the years, Rotten Sound has had some personnel changes; in 2002, the band's lineup included founder Mika Aalto on guitar, vocalist Keijo Niinimaa on vocals, Mika Häkki (who replaced Pekka Ranta) on bass, and Kai Hahto on drums. 2005 saw the release of the Spinefarm-issued Exit, followed in 2008's by Cycles, and in 2011 the band inked a deal with Relapse and released Cursed, their sixth studio long player. Rotten Sound moved to Season of Mist for the 2013 EP Species At War and 2016's full-length Abuse to Suffer.


The Head of Steam Newcastle
2 Neville St, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5EN, UK